MDG Awards Committee events support and raise awareness of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals (MDGs). The highlight annual New York-based ceremony provides a high profile platform to honour and celebrate exemplary efforts by national governments and civil society stakeholders in contributing toward the achievement of the MDG goals. Each year, the UAC, acting as a societal stakeholder, gives Millennium Development Awards, based on the UN’s Millennium Development Goals to honor African leaders who have made exceptional progress in promoting public welfare, democracy, and human rights.

The eight Millennium Development Goals have the endorsement of all 54 Member States of the African Union. The MDGs have found support throughout the United Nations system as countries enlist support from all sectors in the fight against poverty and to improve the lives of billions of the world’s most needy people.

Only a few countries are on track to achieve the implementation of a number of the goals. The support and participation of all parts of the United Nations system, as well as by the broader general public, will be needed if the target date of achieving the MDGs by 2015 is to be met.

Your participation is essential if we are to succeed.

The eight goals are:

  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Achieve universal primary education
  • Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Reduce child mortality
  • Improve maternal health
  • Combat HIV/AIDS malaria and other diseases
  • Ensure environmental sustainability
  • Develop a global partnership for development